by Nevs Coleman

Gimme a Gig

She scans the room

Another spray of perfume

Does your act need a trumpet?

What about a pouting strumpet?

Starting at the yop

With the dandiest fop

She’s got the desperation

Of a performer’s inclination

So gimme a gig!

I’ll throw you

Get to know you

Throw you

Get to know you.

Show you a good time

Get me a stage and I’ll treat you fine.

Lurking on the edge

Of the social periphery

With a well stocked glossary

Of oft-repeated flattery

Designed for maximum empathy

Ruthless in her selection

To further her profession.

So gimme a gig!

I’ll throw you

Get to know you

Throw you

Get to know you.

Show you a good time

Get me a stage and I’ll treat you fine.

Leave a Reply

